Indoor Welsh Cup Winners, 2014

Neyland entertained Ynystawe at the Meads Leasire Centre in Milford on the 26th January 2014, hoping to regain the Welsh Indoor Cup that they had previously won in 2011 & 2012, but lost to an extremely strong Margam side the previous year, a side which went on to be crowned British Champions, but were rightly delared ineligible this year as they draw their players from a number of different South Wales Saturday League sides!
Neyland batted first, and though there were a few nervy moments against the new swinging ball, and a couple of tight opportunities for run-outs which were not taken, both Neyland openers, Paul Murray and Nick Koomen, batted well to reach the 25no retirement mark. The scoring rate was good without being exceptional, and the Ynystawe players shared the bowling around and all bowled accurately with a bit of movement. Andrew Miller and Sean Hannon advanced the scores further until Sean was narrowly run out attempting a sharp single in the 9th over, having been pegged back a little by some good bowling. Andrew Miller hit a straight six but was well caught for 20 by mid off Rob Draper well above his head two balls later. Patrick Hannon and Patrick Bellerby added some useful runs, which pushed the score on towards the 100 mark, before Koomen and Murray returned. Koomen finished top scorer with 36 not out, and Paul Murray was run out for 29 on the last ball of the innings, leaving Neyland on 113 for 5 at the end of their alloted 12 overs.
The score was a decent total, perhaps par for a 12 over innings, albeit playing with a brand new ball again for the second innings, it was a total Neyland were confident of defending providing they bowled well. The Ynystawe opening batsmen were Tom Davies and Sion Jones, while Patrick Hannon opened the bowling with a tight first over. Koomen bowled the second over, conceding 8 runs, and Patrick Hannon returned for the third, conceding only 7 runs from his first 2 overs and putting Ynystawe under some real pressure early on. The young Tom Davies was getting a bit frustrated as his shots into the off side yielded little reward, and a number of powerful drives were well fielded. His partner hed less of the strike but appeared more comfortable working the ball around until a clip from Davies into the leg side saw the batsmen take on a sharp single only for wicketkeeper Murray to gather and make a direct hit to run out Jones for 5.
Ynystawe number 3 Rhys Palmer then watched in amazement as the gentlest of leading edges looped to Koomen in cover to see the normally reliable Koomen drop the easiest catch he has ever dropped. (Except the one in Whitland a couple of years ago!). But it did not make much difference as Palmer soon drove losely at a delivery from Andrew Miller and the rebound off the roof was well caught by Patrick Bellerby at mid-off. Tom Davies soon followed as he attempted to break the stranglehold by advancing down the wicket to Sean Hannon only to fall to a very tidy stumping by Paul Murray.
At this stage Ynystawe were in all sorts of trouble and never looked like getting back into the game. Sean Hannon clean bowled the left handed Robert Draper with a good inswinger, Lewis Trowell was run out at the keepers end afer a bit of confusion and an accurate throw the length of the sports hall from Sean Hannon, and though number 6 Simon top scored with 17, he only delayed the inevitable before he skied one from Sean Hannon and was well caught by his brother Patrick. Umpire Alan Hansen remarked that he thought that Ynystawe had bowled well, but that was the best he had ever seen Neyland bowl, and it was a brilliant performance. Ynystawe were all out for just 46, giving Neyland the win by 67 runs and their third Welsh Indoor title in four years!
Match Scorecard:
Neyland vs Ynystawe Scorecard

In the next round of the ECB national indoor championship, Neyland easily accounted for Dales CC, Leominster [scorecard] on their way to a second last 16 appearance at Edgbaston in 3 years.
The 'Group 2 regional final' will take place on Sunday the 2nd March, where Neyland will face Godmanchester Town CC.